Bringing the post baby barrel racer booty back..

booty back

Everyday I am tagged in posts or sent messages on social media trying to sell me the latest and greatest “LIFE STYLE CHANGE” Thrive, Level, Plexus, Advocare, it’s a like a cult I’m scared to join for 2 reasons. Number one I have a very strange system. Some things don’t bother me that people are cautioned about. I don’t get goofy on Hydrocodone but give me a Sudafed and I am seeing spots on my arms. I’m allergic to Marijuana and anything Hemp but have never had poison ivy, don’t ask me how I discovered either one of those things. I’m an enigma so I hesitate to put anything in my body I don’t know how I might react too. The number 2 reason I don’t have any interest in these things is I don’t have time to take all the pills at scheduled intervals and weigh what I eat with it and the 5000 other instructions that accompany most of those new “Lifestyle changes!” I just recently had the biggest “Lifestyle Change” anyone could ask for. She is cute with blue eyes and a big personality.

I’ve been watching the shrinking waistlines of many women around me and on FB and being one of those women who didn’t lose weight, rather actually gained weight while breast feeding I’ve been wonder how I can get in on this weight loss fitness trend without having to set an alarm to take a pill every 30 minutes. I stopped feeding my daughter all natural at about month 7 and lost few pounds immediately. OK what next… my husband trying to be supportive gently suggested I reduce my intake of Coca Cola to at least just one a day. A place to start and I did it was hard at first. I will confess I do drink Advocare’s Spark I love the stuff. It’s addicting so one coke per day was replaced with one spark in the mornings with a healthy breakfast of eggs and a piece of bacon, I eat small healthy portions at home and do my best not to finish whatever I get when we eat out. Portion size weight watchers style. I am down to one or 2 cokes a week and those are generally Mexican cokes which I am convinced is better for you in the same way Diet Coke drinkers think that’s actually better for them. If you don’t know the difference between Mexican Coke and American. It’s in a glass bottle and still made with real sugar and tastes like coke did back in the day. If you weren’t alive back in the day I suggest you go get a Mexican Coke and get a taste for what back in the day was. It really was better.

Ok so I’m controlling my food intake as best as I can without going on a crash diet that I will most certainly quit what else. Being a horse trainer you get plenty of exercise but I started carrying hay bales instead of wheeling them around on a cart, I ride bareback or without stirrups as much as I can posting at a trot (on the correct diagonal for all my English friends) I make a point to take extra steps where I know I could cut corners. By the time I get done feeding in the mornings I am sweating. Little things to raise your heart rate all day long without making yourself run on a treadmill. It doesn’t even feel like you’re exercising. This week I have reached three goals I told my husband I would do at the beginning of the year. I got back into my favorite pair of Cowgirl Tuff Jeans from pre baby without jumping up and down and I was able to swing up on my 15.2 hand head horse bareback indian style to go get the escaped calves in first try. If you’re not a horse person reading this you have no idea how hard that really is if your core’s not strong enough… and number 3 I sat and watched my videos of my colts working last night and didn’t think about how fat I looked.

I will never be that slick 120 I was when I was 21 yrs old strutting around at a Hawaiian Tropic competition and I really don’t want to be. Seriously I like that I can dance to “Bringing Booty Back” without someone being like “WTH is her skinny ass dancing like this is her Jam?” but I do want to keep working towards feeling like I am the best shape I can possibly be in without sacrificing the things I enjoy like Mexican Food. I got on the scales this morning and I am right at pre baby weight. I’d like to see 10 more lbs. go and I think I can do it staying on the course I am on. So for those of you who refuse to give up food truck taco’s you really don’t have too. Sacrifice your life style the way you’ve sacrificed your life for your kids. Give up the extra but keep what’s important.

Leave a comment